Skip to content

DIYbio for the week of August 21

August 19, 2016

scstowell

Here are your DIYbio events for the week.

On Sunday,  Durham will have David Cole speaking about when to drop what you’re doing and seek a patent attorney, using the recent CRISPR patent dispute as an illustration, Melbourne will be locating their new biohackspace at a local hackspace, and Oakland will be continuing their Biohack Academy series with a workshop on enzyme digestion for cloning and gel electrophoresis, and continuing with their Open Insulin project.

On Monday, Oakland discusses projects on the intersection of Art and Science, Oslo hosts the UiO iGEM team, who will discuss their project, and there will be strawberry dna extraction.  Also on Monday, Madison will be participating in a local startup event.

On Tuesday, Kym Romano give a talk about the gut microbiome, and Sunnyvale continues their quantum salinity detector project.

On Wednesday, Bio-Academy – How to Grow Almost Anything directed by George Church begins, a 16 week very intensive course with hands-on work every week allowing YOU access to some of the latest biotech and synthetic biology ideas and the personalities behind them. PLEASE APPLY NOW.  Also on Wednesday, Ghent will be in Antwerp at a conference exploring life in a combined physical and digital world, with founder Winnie Poncelet as one of the guest speakers, and Oakland continues their Open Insulin project as well as furthering fun fermentation.

On Thursday, Baltimore has a brief workshop on restriction digestion of plasmid DNA, Brooklyn is at a New York City comedy club with Dr Rosemarie Perry speaking about the science of stress,  Ghent is in Antwerp on the second day of a conference, Oakland discusses the Art of Science, and the Science of Art, as well as building a bio 3d printer, and Sunnyvale continues their bioprinter project.

On Friday, Baltimore hosts astronomist and astrobiologist Alex Storrs as he talks about “Life, the Universe, and Everything”, and Ghent is at the final day of a conference in Antwerp.

Finally, on Saturday Baltimore continues with its Build-a-Gene workshop led by Lisa Scheifele, and Charlottesville has a family oriented  Building with Biology day.

Sunday, August 21
Durham, NC, USA
Melbourne, VIC, AUS
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA

Monday, August 22
Oakland, CA, USA
Oslo, NOR
Madison, WI, USA

Tuesday, August 23
Madison, WI, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wednesday, August 24
Bio Academy – HTGAA in labs all over the world,  APPLY NOW
Ghent, OV, BEL
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA

Thursday, August 25
Baltimore, MD, USA
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Ghent, OV, BEL
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Friday, August 26
Baltimore, MD, USA
Ghent, OV, BEL

Saturday, August 27
Baltimore, MD, USA
Charlottesville, VA, USA

Other events coming up

Sunday, August 28
Bethesda, MD, USA
Melbourne, VIC, AUS
Oakland, CA, USA

Tuesday, August 30
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wednesday, August 31
Ghent, OV, BEL
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, September 1
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Friday, September 2
Baltimore, MD, USA
Singapore

Saturday, September 3
Cambridge, UK
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Monday, September 5
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Tuesday, September 6
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wednesday, September 7
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, September 8
Oakland, CA, USA
Toronto, ON, CAN

Saturday, September 10
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Sunday, September 11
Oakland, CA, USA

Tuesday, September 13
Madison, WI, USA
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wednesday, September 14
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Saturday, September 17
Austin, TX, USA
Seattle, WA, USA

Monday, September 19
Cambridge, UK

Friday, September 23-Sunday, September 25
Oakland, CA, USA

Monday, September 26
Somerville, MA, USA

Saturday, October 8
Seattle, WA, USA

Saturday October 22- Sunday, October 30
Eindhoven, NTL

Photos from a recent CRISPR Cas 9 hands on techniques event at Prophase Studios in Austin, Texas, USA

To see when the next event is in your area, check the full list of usual suspects. Don’t see one near you? Why not have your own and get it posted here? Tell us about it by emailing events@diybio.org. It would be great to post some photos of your event somewhere. We’d love to see them. We do have some guidelines for what is posted, and are not capturing every event within the community.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s