Skip to content

DIYbio events for the remainder of the week of September 11

September 12, 2016

scstowell

Here are your DIYbio events for the remainder of the week.

On Monday Brooklyn begins their Biohacker Boot Camp series, as well their CRISPR/CAS9 course (a prerequisite for hands on lab work) taught by Oliver Medvedik and Ellen Jorgensen, while Tel Aviv has Abba Priev and Zachariah Gershon Astrakhan talking about how they formed their companies specializing in ultrasonics for biotech applications.

On Tuesday, Madison has Craig Atwood talking about the Biology of Aging, and Sunnyvale continues on their quantum salinity detector project.

On Wednesday, Oakland continues on their Open Insulin project, as well as furthering fun fermentations. Sunnyvale continues their fluorescence microscope project, and Vancouver has a discussion about your diet and your DNA.

On Thursday, Berlin has Margherita Pevere presenting and discussing her microbial cellulose artwork, Brooklyn has Franklin Abrams talking about intellectual property and its application to synthetic biology, Cambridge would like you to come help assemble their biomakespace, Denver has a miracle berry pot luck, Munich talks about their recent hackathon participation, Oakland and Sunnyvale collaborate on their bioprinter project.  Oakland is also kicking off a plant project. San Diego has Andrew Johnson speaking about the marine ecosystem of the Gulf of California.

On Friday, Sunnyvale has Mazyar Lotfalian and Michael Scroggins (and others) leading workshops on Citizen Science, Activism, and Art.

On Saturday, Austin is helping on a prosthetic hand-a-thon, Cambridge continues to need help with setting up their biomakespace, Oakland and Sunnyvale collaborate on their biological sun screen project, Seattle carries on an aquaponics workshop, Somerville has a family oriented Building with Biology event, with hands on learning activities and discussions, and  Vancouver begins a weekend workshop led by Ian Lee on Biohacking your Identity.

Monday, September 12
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Tel Aviv, ISR

Tuesday, September 13
Madison, WI, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wednesday, September 14
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Vancouver, BC, CAN

Thursday, September 15
Berlin, DEU
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Cambridge, UK
Denver, CO, USA
Munich, DEU
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
San Diego, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Friday, September 16
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Saturday, September 17
Austin, TX, USA
Cambridge, UK
Oakland, CA, USA
Seattle, WA, USA
Somerville, MA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Vancouver, BC, CAN

Other events coming up

Sunday, September 18
Oakland, CA, USA

Monday, September 19
Cambridge, UK
Oakland, CA, USA
Oslo, NOR

Tuesday, September 20
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
New York, NY, USA

Wednesday, September 21
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, September 22
Baltimore, MD, USA
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Friday, September 23
North York, ON, CAN

Friday, September 23-Sunday, September 25
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Saturday, September 24
Amsterdam, NTL
Denver, CO, USA

Sunday, September 25
Amsterdam, NTL
Bethesda, MD, USA

Monday, September 26
Oakland, CA, USA
Somerville, MA, USA

Tuesday, September 27
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Minneapolis, MN, USA

Wednesday, September 28
Ghent, BEL
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Vancouver, BC, CAN

Thursday, September 29
Buenos Aires, ARG
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA

Friday, September 30
Baltimore, MD, USA

Friday, October 7
Singapore

Saturday, October 8
Seattle, WA, USA

Saturday, October 15
Austin, TX, USA
Seattle, WA, USA

Tuesday, October 18
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Saturday October 22- Sunday, October 30
Eindhoven, NTL

Here are photos of the recent bioluminescence event at the Art Laboratory in Berlin (also called Biotinkering Berlin)

To see when the next event is in your area, check the full list of usual suspects. Don’t see one near you? Why not have your own and get it posted here? Tell us about it by emailing events@diybio.org. It would be great to post some photos of your event somewhere. We’d love to see them. We do have some guidelines for what is posted, and are not capturing every event within the community.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s