Skip to content

DIYbio events for remainder of the week of October 2

October 3, 2016

scstowell

Here are your DIYbio events for the remainder of the week.

On Monday, Oakland and Sunnyvale continue their collaboration on Real Vegan Cheese.  Oakland will also be carrying out a lesson on plant culturing, and will be helping with a panel discussion with academics, venture capitalists, botanists, and biohackers on Fear of the GMO Future in San Francisco.

On Tuesday, Amsterdam continues their cycle of collaborative projects, San Diego has Bethany Kolody talking about microbial communication on the ocean’s surface, Somerville will have Killian Veer demonstrating a web-platform for discovering and purchasing research materials used in molecular biology and genetics, and Sunnyvale continues their quantum salinity detector project.  In San Francisco, the Synbiobeta 2-day conference begins.

On Wednesday, Heidelberg has a statue signing, where Rüdiger Trojok author of a book on biohacking, and Patrick Hasenfeld winner of Berlin Science Hack Day 1015 “Best Hardware Hack” prize will give short presentations, Oakland continues its fun fermentations and Open Insulin project, and Sunnyvale continues its fluorescence microscope project.

On Thursday, Brooklyn has Lisa Brown speaking about pharmacogenetics, and why medicine is always personal, and Oakland and Sunnyvale continue their collaboration on their bioprinter project.

Friday is the last day for registration for the Igem Giant Jamboree.  Also on Friday,  Singapore meets to discuss improvised lab equipment and home experiments, and Washington, DC has a discussion on the prospects of life and human habitability around nearby stars

Finally, on Saturday Austin has a learning session on re-purposing abandoned pools, spas, and ponds, and  Seattle carries out a sheep brain dissection for beginning neuro-biologists.

Monday, October 3
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Tuesday, October 4
Amsterdam, NTL
San Diego, CA
Somerville, MA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Tuesday October 4- Wednesday October 5
San Francisco, CA, USA

Wednesday, October 5
Heidelberg, BW, DEU
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, October 6
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Friday, October 7
Boston, MA, USA
Singapore
Washington, DC, USA

Saturday, October 8
Austin, TX, USA
Seattle, WA, USA

Other events coming up

Sunday, October 9
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Reston, VA, USA

Monday, October 10
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oakland, CA, USA

Tuesday, October 11
Amsterdam, NTL

Wednesday, October 12
Ghent, BEL
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Somerville, MA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, October 13
Berlin, DEU
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Toronto, ON, CAN

Saturday, October 15
Austin, TX, USA
Berlin, DEU
Oakland, CA, USA
Seattle, WA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Sunday, October 16
Oslo, NOR
Oakland, CA, USA

Monday, October 17
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA

Tuesday, October 18
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wednesday, October 19
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Somerville, MA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, October 20
Baltimore, MD, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Friday, Ocober 21
Washington, DC, USA

Saturday October 22- Sunday, October 30
Eindhoven, NTL

Saturday, October 22
Charlottesville, VA, USA
Seattle, WA, USA

Sunday, October 23
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Monday, October 24
Oakland, CA, USA

Tuesday, October 25
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Wednesday, October 26
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, October 27
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Saturday, October 29
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Sunday, October 30
Oakland, CA, USA

Monday, October 31
Oakland, CA, USA

Saturday, November 5
Baltimore, MD, USA

Heidelburg, BW, DEU

Sunday, November 6
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Friday, November 11
Baltimore, MD, USA

Monday, November 14
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Thursday, November 17
New York, NY, USA

Monday, November 21
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Monday, December 4
Brooklyn, NY, USA

Friday, December 9
Baltimore, MD, USA

Monday, December 12
Brooklyn, NY, USA

To see when the next event is in your area, check the full list of usual suspects. Don’t see one near you? Why not have your own and get it posted here? Tell us about it by emailing events@diybio.org. It would be great to post some photos of your event somewhere. We’d love to see them. We do have some guidelines for what is posted, and are not capturing every event within the community.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s