Skip to content

DIYbio events for the week of May 8

May 7, 2016

scstowell

Here are your DIYbio events for the week.  On Sunday, Austin has Justin Atkin as a guest speaker, and Oakland is continuing its work on Open Insulin, and its coursework on protein purification.  On Monday, Sunnyvale continues its work on building a quantum salinity detector using plasmon surface resonance.  On Tuesday, Amsterdam has their Ideation session for the next project cycle, and Denver will be co-making centrifuges and incubators.  On Wednesday, Brooklyn has a course preparing you for CRISPER/Cas9, including design of guide RNA, Oakland continues its fun fermentations and Open Insulin project, while Sunnyvale continues with its flouresence microscope project.  On Thursday, Brooklyn has a presentation by Dr. Ania Fryszkowska entitled “The Biology and Chemistry of Color”, Sunnyvale continues its work on bioprinting, and Toronto begins a study group on Herron & Freeman’s Evolutionary Analysis.  On Friday, Bethesda goes to a presentation on printable machines (informal robotics) by Jonathan Grinham, and Toronto begins a 5-day workshop on bioengineering, bio-production, and painting with bio-pigments.  On Saturday, Baltimore has a fun art and DNA event,  Oakland and Sunnyvale continue their evolved sunscreen project, Denver has a brainstorming session as they form an iGEM team,  Seattle has a fragrances and essential oils workshop led by Reitha Weeks, PhD, and Toronto continues its 5-day workshop on industrial biotechnology.

Sunday, May 8
Austin, TX, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA

Monday, May 9
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Tuesday, May 10
Amsterdam, NTL
Denver, CO, USA

Wednesday, May 11
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Thursday, May 12
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Toronto, ON, CAN

Friday, May 13
Bethesda, MD, USA
Toronto, ON, CAN

Saturday, May 14
Baltimore, MD, USA
Oakland, CA, USA
Denver, CO, USA
Seattle, WA, USA
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Toronto, ON, CAN

Wednesday, May 18
Los Angeles, CA, USA

Thursday, May 19
Amsterdam, NTL
Oakland, CA, USA

Friday, May 20
Oakland, CA, USA

Saturday, May 21
Seattle, WA, USA

Sunday, May 22
Seattle, WA, USA

Tuesday, May 24
Cambridge, MA, USA

Wednesday, May 25
Austin, TX, USA

Sunday, May 29
Austin, TX, USA

Monday, May 30
Oakland, CA, USA
Tel Aviv-Yafo, ISR

Tuesday, June 14
Beijing, CN

Thursday, June 16
Shanghai, CN

Friday, June 17
Shenzhen, GD, CN

To see when the next event is in your area, check the full list of usual suspects. Don’t see one near you? Why not have your own and get it posted here? Tell us about it by emailing events@diybio.org. It would be great to post some photos of your event somewhere. We’d love to see them. We do have some guidelines for what is posted, and are not capturing every event within the community.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s